eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Inuyasha Story Idea

I've gotten into Inuyasha again. Like, really. I stumbled onto an interesting-sounding story on ff.net, and it just snowballed from there. But then... it deviated. I'm into one of more unlikely couples.

For the most part, I'm a fan of Inuyasha/Kagome (so much that I hiss whenever Kikyo shows up, but my upset with Kikyo goes beyond my pairing preference, and is a rant for a different time), though I do rather enjoy Miroku/Kagome at times.

But right now, I'm on a total Kagome/Sesshoumaru kick. And, after reflecting on it, I'm almost positive that was the first pairing I latched onto so many years ago when I first started watching Inuyasha on [adultswim]. The preoccupation with SK only lasted a little while, before I really started to "get" Inuyasha's character, & the chemistry he & Kagome have.

But it seems I've come full-circle, & after so many incomplete stories focusing on Kagome & Inuyasha as a couple, I've started one for Kagome/Sesshoumaru. It deals with time-travel, which is one of my favorite things to contemplate about the Inuyasha universe, what with Kagome's penchant for falling down dry wells & all.

I've found several stories that deal with similar ideas. Sesshoumaru, being a full demon, it's assumed that he'll still be alive in 500 years (if he doesn't get his arrogant ass killed, but that's beside the point), so there are these stories where Kagome disappears down the well, only to find Sesshoumaru (or he finds her/has been waiting for her) after she reappears in her own time.

Screw that. Kagome may not have to wait, but why should Sesshoumaru? So, my idea deals with a different facet of time-travel; that of encountering one's own self. Most of the theories I've heard speculate that you can't encounter yourself, or various bad things will happen, from ripping a hole in space-time, to just plain going insane because your brain can't handle it.

So, what if Kagome decided to stay with Sesshoumaru, 500 in the past, & they found a way for her to remain alive, effectively immortal? The show deals pretty heavily with reincarnation (Kagome being a reincarnation herself of Kikyo, of course.) The show explains quite clearly that 2 bodies cannot have the same soul; which is why Kikyo's clay body couldn't be reanimated, and even after it was, she was only able to keep a piece of her soul, & the rest returned to Kagome.

So, once 1985 (or whenever Kagome's birthday is) comes around, how is baby-Kagome going to be born, if grown-Kagome is still alive?

I've actually come to the conclusion (after thinking over the idea and typing some of the story) that it would probably be a non-issue, but it's just plausible enough that the story idea still works. (Besides, it's not like the show doesn't ask you to seriously suspend your belief in the first place).

Anyway, I love this story idea, I've come up with several mini-arcs for the story... and I'll probably never finish it, having not enough time and overthinking it when I can't write/type it out. I actually can't believe I wrote as much as I have already.

Boo to work. It sucks all my motivation.

7:16 a.m. - 2006-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten