eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

She-Ra & the Wonders of Childhood

Skeletor: "A female He-Man! Uh--uh-- This is just not my day!"

So, I just got She-Ra on DVD. It's actually 'the best of', & Disc 1 has the movie on it (which I watched every chance I got as a little kid), & Disc 2 has 5 fan-favorite episodes on it.

I just watched the movie. I enjoyed it, even though there were quite a few times I was rolling my eyes at the cheesiness of it.

I am biased against American cartoons. I love anime, and American cartoons just don't usually measure up. '80's cartoons definitely don't. I was watching the movie & trying to pinpoint what in American cartoons I don't like, compared to anime. One thing is the art itself. anime tends to "flow" better. Have you ever watched a cartoon (especially an older one, from the '80's or '90's) where the background will look like a background, except for one specific spot that seems colored differently, like it's not part of the background? Sure enough, that spot is going to change during that scene. Be it a pile of dirt someone's going to fall into, or a boulder that's going to fall, you can always tell when the scenery is going to change because it's got a different look to it than the rest. It probably has something to do with cel animation, but I honestly don't know; I just know it drives me crazy when I notice it.

Another thing I noticed was the coloring. There is no shading in She-Ra, at least not the movie. Everything is one matte color. The backgrounds have some shading, I assume because they don't move, & so the artists spent more time on them to make them look better, I don't know.

Anyway. Despite it being an '80's Saturday Morning Cartoon(tm), He-Man and She-Ra are pretty good shows. Over-the-top, yes, but to my way of thinking, it seems most things from the '80's were over-the-top. I mean, just look at the fashions that came from that decade.

Have a great day!

10:00 a.m. - 2006-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten