eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After a month away...

Wow. I haven't updated this in a month (31 days exactly.) I feel like such a slacker.

I mean, I am a slacker (I've made procrastination a way of life), but very rarely do I feel like a slacker. At least not in this vaguely guilty way.

So, anyway. Lots of stuff going on, most of it piddly, but it's what makes up my life.

First off (because it's most important at the moment), I've rediscovered J-List. With my Visa Debit Card. This is a mixed blessing, 'cause on the positive side, I can order authentic Japanese items right from my computer. But on the negative side, I can order authentic Japanese items right from my computer. Which means I can blow a whole lot of money real fast.

Right now, I'm in the process of doing just that. I've already ordered a computer game (more about that later), & now I'm buying candy. Yeah, candy. But not just any candy! Japanese candy. For one thing, the flavors are different, & they have some interesting types of candy & gum. Here's what I've amassed in my e-cart so far:

Lotte Black Black Gum [3] - this is caffeinated gum. I plan on chewing this at work.

Bontan Ame (Japanese Traditional Soft Candy) [1] - Bontan is a "tangerine-like fruit that comes from the Southern part of Japan". The candy looks like a caramel square, but it says it's "semisweet fruit-flavored". What convinced me to buy it is the wrapper; each piece is individually wrapped in paper made from rice, so you can just pop the candy in your mouth, paper & all. I anticipate the shock factor when people see me do that.

Lotte Konatsu Candy [1] - "During the hot months of summer, it's hard to cool down, but here is a wonderful burst of cool in hard candy form. This fantastic snack by Japan's Lotte is packed with lemon flavor -- a hard candy outer shell with lemon paste on the inside. With juicy lemon taste, you'll love these amazing individually wrapped candies. As an extra special treat, two of the candies are extra large balls of sour sweetness!"
It gets unbelievably hot @ work sometimes (they haven't turned the air conditioners up for the summer yet, & Kim says North is always hot), so I'll probably stash a few of these in my purse in case I need them. Plus, I love lemon, as well as anything with a soft center.

Morinaga Hi-Chew Kids (Super Drink Flavor) [2] - This is sticks (I think they're sticks) of candy, that look like chewing gum. You can chew them a really long time before swallowing. The flavor is "'super drink' flavor (a vitamin drink that has a very undescribable taste -- kind of like a fizzy sour cola)". Anyway, sounds interesting. I can't chew gum for more than a half-hour to hour, because it upsets my stomach. But I figure I'll chew this for a while, & when my stomach starts getting upset, I'll just swallow it, problem solved. ^_~V

Hello Kitty Ceramic Tea Pot ~ Blue [1] - Okay, this isn't candy, I know. But 1) they only have 1 left, 2) I adore Hello Kitty, & 3) I drink hot tea, & I'll drink more if I have this. At least that's the argument I'll give my mom when she finds out about this...

Crap. I just found the HK candy I'd seen last night (it's called nodo ame, or throat candy, & it helps "lubricate your throat & helps stave off coughs & sore throats." Which I get on a regular basis. But there's only 1 left, & I was gonna give 1 to Amber. Well, I'll just look for something else for her. I wanna get her something for like her b-day, even though I don't know when that is.

Okay, so I've been getting more into anime lately, all because Walmart has finally gotten a clue & started selling anime. I've bought 2 FMA english DVDs out there, the 3rd Inuyasha movie (I was freaking out when I saw it, my Mom was like, "Be quiet, oh my God I don't know you"), DBZ stuff (which they've sold for a while, but they're getting more of it in, the series & not just the movies), I found a Oh, My Goddess DVD out there too, & I saw a price tag for Samurai 7, but they didn't have it stocked. Grr.

So... Oh, yeah, this is how it started. I got my Shoujo Beat! magazine, & found an ad for Yaoi Press, & decided to look it up. (actually, I went there because there's a free webcomic they have, called Zesty!. It's cute, & interesting. Anyway, @ the top I saw an ad for... I don't remember which game it was, but 1 of the 2-3 yaoi/BL computer games they've translated. (I say 2-3 because I'm not entirely sure if AnimaMundi is yaoi or not. It might just have bishounen in it, but no BL content. I don't know.) The last I'd heard, they were only letting you pre-order them before their release. But they were released in like, April or May, so I went to have a look.

I want the game Perfect Obedience, but it's not shipping yet, & I'm too impatient to wait, so I got "Enzai--Falsely Accused" first. The art is fantastic, the story sounds interesting, and it's set in post-Napoleon France, an era not normally used for Japanese storylines. I'm excited to try it out.

Okay, I'll wait 'til later to talk about the Japanese stuff again. There are other things happening that I'm... anticipating.

Kim's getting married August 5th. It's a Saturday, & moreover, I work that night. She's getting married in Wakefield (which is right by Wayne), so it's a 2-hour drive. Even if I'm not driving, it's hard for me to fall asleep in a car. I had switched with Jessica, but then she not only went PRN, but they had her start working evenings instead (she switched because she's going to school), so now I'm gonna have to find someone else to switch with me.

On a happier note, I put in a request for a 2-week vacation in July. From Tues July 11 (I have Monday off) through Friday July 21. You have to find someone to work/trade weekend nights w/ you, but weekend nights are considered Sat & Sun, so they should give me Friday off. Friday is the only night I have to work all the time. All the other days I get off every other week.

Anyway. I plan on going to stay with Kim for 4 days or so. Her bridal shower is the 15th, so I figured I'd just go back to Omaha with her after the shower's over.

I'll try not to go a month without updating again. No promises, though.

Ja ne~

5:51 p.m. - 2006-06-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten