eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My to-be-Newest Obsession

I've found my newest obsession. I haven't actually gotten it yet, but I know it'll be my next obsession.

It's called Poser, and it's a 3D program. You use human figures (that you can buy) & can pose them & add backgrounds & make all sorts of artwork with them.

When I was about 14, I'd just gotten my 1st computer, & wanted some sort of "digital paperdoll" program. So I did an internet search, and found KiSS dolls. I learned about them, d/led the program, found tutorials on how to make them/their clothes, d/led the programs needed to do that, and spent the next 6 years frustrated that all I had was MSPaint & a regular mouse, so my art was next to crap. I have 2 dolls that I've still got on my old harddrive, & that I still bring out every now & then, when I'm feeling industrious. Rainbow Brite, on an Emby Quinn base (Emby is my favorite artist), and Sailor Moon, on an Angy-chan dollz base. Actually, I did SM on an Emby base also, but it was so big that all the different files took up a huge amount of space. Both dolls are multi-character dolls. RB has the hair & clothes of all the Color Kids (which was a pain), and SM is sort of a "create-your-own-Scout" doll, with... I think 12 different hair colors in no less than 9 hair-styles, 12 different colored fuku skirts, 9 different shoe/boot styles in 12 diff. colors, 12 elbow gloves w/ diff. colored edges, 12 wrist gloves w/ different edges, 12 tiaras w/ diff. colored jewels, 12 diff. colored chokers, 12 diff. colored chest & back bows... I'll bet there's more, but I can't think of anything else.

I know that sounds like a lot (& it is, believe me), but honestly, it's mostly just cutting/pasting & recoloring. It wouldn't have been nearly as frustrating if my computer monitor could keep it's color, instead of turning everything blue/green. I couldn't tell half of the colors apart, so I didn't know if I was duplicating a color or not. And actually, even w/ that obstacle, the clothes are done. I think I even have them all converted to filetype. It's the coding that finally did me in.

Anyway. That's a rant for another time. But as you can see, I spent pretty much every waking minute on my computer, working or playing with KiSS dolls.

Then we moved, and I got a job. Then I got a new computer, w/ a monitor that works, and spent the next month trying to figure out how the frick to get my old computer files onto my new comp. Never did come up with a viable plan for that, except on floppy-disk.

And then, I discovered The Sims, and then The Sims 2. Ooer. I've had more fun creating people/families and dressing them up in different styles, & coming up with background stories for them, and only recently have I actually started playing with them in-game. I've d/led over 2,000 items of custom content, all but a few items of it being either hair or clothing, and the vast majority of that for the females. Which just goes to show ya, no matter how old I get, and no matter how sophisticated my toys get, I still enjoy playing Barbie. ^_^

And now, my toys are about to get much more sophisticated yet. Poser looks like an awesome program, and the only bad review I read about it wasn't bad so much as mixed, they weren't happy w/ how the program loaded files & such. But they liked the program itself, for the most part.

I want Poser. I'm just waiting until Friday when I get my paycheck, & then I'm going to order it. It's like $249 - probably more than half my check. I really wish I could d/l it, but I'm gonna order the CD - because 1) I feel more comfortable w/ the physical copy than I do d/ling it, & 2 - I'm gonna get the full version, which is like, 200-something MBs, & I have dial-up. It's like, a 25-hour d/l. I don't think so.

Then I'm going to get Aiko 3.0, which is a female model that's anime/manga-style. She's got a whole bunch of cool clothes & hair & accessories, etc. that you can get, also.

Why do I need a car? Apparently, I'm never going to leave the house (or my computer chair, for that matter) again.

5:39 p.m. - 2006-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten