eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I finally saw The Last Samurai!!!

Mom & I watched The Last Samurai tonight (or last night, whatever). I loved it. Absolutely loved it! But, to tell you the truth... I don't think I would have liked it nearly as much if I wasn't obsessed with Japan. I mean, the story was fantastic, the acting was superb, and I cried twice in 5 minutes (1st when Katsumoto committed harakiri, & the Japanese military leader looked like he was about to cry, & then just when I got myself under control, Algren enters the Emperor's chambers with Katsumoto's katana, and it was just a brilliant scene! I loved that in response to the Emperor saying, "Tell me how he died." Algren says, "I will tell you how he lived." Gah!)

Okay, so, fangirling aside, it was a very well-done movie. But. I wouldn't be half as excited about it if I didn't already know quite a bit about Japanese culture. I kept pausing the movie to explain little things to my mom.

And the biggest thrill I got during the movie? Not when she dresses him in Hirotaro's samurai armor, oh no. It was when Nobutada says, "Chichi-ue--"

I paused the DVD & just shrieked for a moment. I just went "Eeeeeee!" My mom's like, "What?" and I explained that Chichi-ue was an old-fashioned/honorable way of saying Father. Like O Father. I just couldn't get over it. And then Taka said Ani-ue at one point, and I just had to explain to Mom what all the different words were - and how I'd learned them (from Inuyasha, of course.) It was so much fun! I had more fun listening to the Japanese (and of course, telling Mom exactly which words meant what), than I did watching the movie.

I'm a total linguist geek. I loved the movie, & want to buy it on DVD now. I'd watch it repeatedly, too, even with all the war-parts & the not-so-happy ending. I loved it. I did.

Plus, it reaffirmed my obsession with the Japanese language. It's such a beautiful language, even if I'll never be able to fluently speak it (or, y'know, speak it at all), I love listening to it. So, that's my short little entry. Just had to write about it.

Guh! Such a good movie!

3:43 a.m. - 2006-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten