eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Doujinshi - The BL Fangirl's Visual Aid!

I just watched 5 hours of The X-Files. I've seen all the episodes before, but not since they originally aired like, 6 or 7 years ago... God, that makes me feel old. Ahh, those were the days, before every sitcom and drama were put on DVD, so when I missed an episode, I freaked out, thinking I'd never get to see it, ever. I was so high-strung about recording stuff back then.

Back then?

Shut up. As I was saying, I just blew my entire night off watching TV. Enjoyable, funny TV starring a hunky star, but still. And now, to top it off... I want to buy at least a few seasons of the show on DVD. Just the 6th & 7th, I think, those were the really good seasons, if I'm remembering right. X-Files was one of my first obsessions, with fanfic. Internet was a new thing to me, & we didn't have a computer at the time, so the only time I could get on the internet was at my mom's office. Yep, X-Files and Star Wars. Wow. "The Good Ole Days."

Anyway, enough of that.

I found a site that has FMA doujinshi. RoyEd doujinshi. Happy! They've also got Naruto doujinshi, which I'm gonna look at next.

And! I got my Visa Check Card in the mail a few days ago, and I'm shopping on Hottopic.com right now for keychains. I'm gonna get a little rubber Roy, rubber Alphonse, a necklace w/ an alchemy circle (the circle they show behind the name of every episode, I think), and Roy's gloves! The gloves only come in Medium and Large, so I hope Medium won't be too big for me. (I have VERY small hands, I've never met anyone caucasian over the age of 12 or 13 with hands as small as mine.)

I deviated slightly from my "shopping list", and put a Naruto keychain in my cart, also. It's got Sasuke in the foreground, and Naruto in the background, looking over his shoulder. It's pretty cool. Plus - Sasuke. Can't go wrong with a sullen black-haired character.

There's a shirt on Hot Topic that I really, really want to get, but it's like $30. It says "I do very bad things" in white; then underneath, in smaller red print, it says, "And I do them very well." I plan on getting that as soon as I have a little more spending money. Next month, maybe.

Mom and I are planning a little Easter trip. Annie is having Easter dinner at their house in Wayne, the Sunday before Easter Sunday. I have that weekend off, so we're planning on going. But instead of asking Hank for a ride & having to do everything on someone else's schedule, Mom & I are gonna rent a car Saturday (or maybe Friday night even), & Saturday when I get off work, we're gonna drive down to Wayne & stay at the local Super 8. That way, I can sleep on the ride there, & stay up all night Saturday without disturbing anyone, like I would if we stayed at Annie & Jimmy's. Plus, added bonus: swimming pool! I can't remember the last time I went swimming. I think I've bought several swimsuits since then, & I only buy one a year, so... I'm excited.

So, FMA doujinshi. The first 1 I d/led is called a 'random gag' doujinshi. Just sort of making fun of itself and making funny little jokes. It's got Elricest & RoyEd and I think HughesRoy. Dangit, I wish I could draw!!! I'm gonna have to keep trying, start drawing Ed & Roy & Al. Maybe I should try drawing my comic strip again.

It's really cute. When I was into Dragon Ball Z, I started a simple little comic strip. The premise was Gokou, being the unwitting announcer of a yaoi show. Finally he asks just what this "yaoi" is, & I, as the producer, come out & tell him. There's a really funny shot of me whispering in his ear, & his eyes are huge in shock, & he's clenching his fists and crumpling the script. Then he says he won't host a show about 'that sort of thing', & I get pissy & say over the loud speaker that either he'll host the show, or I'll have him give a practical demonstration.

The next panel has him announcing, but his voice gets all shaky. The first pairing he mentions in detail is, naturally, him & Vegeta. He finally stops & says angrily that he doesn't care what I do to him, he won't host the show, & walks off.

That's about the time I stopped drawing it. I tried a couple of times, bringing in 'guest hosts' to fill his spot, with him asking who these guys are, but... the art-style only really matches the DBZ style. First I tried using Duo, but that didn't really work, so I only had him in one shot. Then I brought Ranma in. Gokou asks who this guy is, and what happened to Duo. I explain that I couldn't really draw Duo well, & I love guys with ponytails. Then I say pointedly that I also have to have a martial artist, since *someone* refuses to be a good sport about the whole thing. Gokou just rolls his eyes in long-suffering.

Maybe I'll try it with Ed. I can just see Roy dropping by the set and being all arrogant and smug, flaunting his relationship with Ed in front of Gokou. And Ed getting all embarrassed about it! Maybe I could even throw in a short joke, & Ed going ballistic on Roy. Hmm...

So, I'm gonna go now. I wanna read the doujinshi! Hee, peace!

5:45 a.m. - 2006-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten