eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not What I Wanted Pierced

I suppose I should have seen this coming.

Thursday, I called Lisa to finalize plans about going to get my tongue pierced. I went with Mom to Lincoln (an hour away) to see if the place I wanted to go to there was still open (his phone number wasn't working), & discovered that he'd closed. So, I'd only gotten about 4 hours of sleep anyway. Then Troy (Lisa's "soon-to-be-ex-husband") called to say that their son Seth had a really bad asthma attack, & Lisa wouldn't be able to go the next day. Because it's really the only time I know for sure I'll have even 3 days off, he offered to drive me down there, which I accepted (hesitantly - I'd never met him before). Lisa had been in with Seth helping to calm him down, so a little while later she called me & said she'd gotten her dad to stay at the house that day, & she & Troy were gonna take me to Grand Island. Between Troy's phone call & her's I kept thinking, "Y'know, this is a sign from God that you shouldn't get your tongue pierced. No, no, don't think that, it's just a coincidence."

So, we left today at about 1:20pm, & I was pretty nervous. But by the time we reached Grand Island, the extreme nerves had sort of settled into the pit of my stomach, & I could ignore them easier.

He has me fill out the paperwork, pay for the piercing, went into the back room & swished with H2Ocean (which is pretty much sea salt water, & therefore very disgusting to have to swish around your tongue for 30 seconds), then he had me stick out my tongue and --

"Is that all the further you can stick your tongue out?"

Yes, as a matter of fact, it was. He was afraid when he pierced it, he'd hit my lower lip with the needle, & then he had me turn my head to the side & looking at the thickness of my tongue, thought it would probably be too small for the bar. (He said it would probably be uncomfortable, because the bar is... I think he said 7/8 of an inch, & would just get in the way in my mouth.) He apologized & said he should have checked it sooner, before all the prep work, but honestly hadn't thought of it. So since I'd already paid the fee (all his piercings are the same price), he asked if I wanted to get anything else pierced instead. & I had actually been thinking about this since I told my mom I wanted my tongue done, & she asked if I could pierce something else instead - so I had him pierce my right eyebrow.

I still can't quite believe that I got my eyebrow pierced. It looks really cute - and I'm probably one of the few people who can pierce their face & still have people tell me it looks "cute"! Some days that's a good thing, most days it's not...

Anyway. It's just a metal hoop now, but I'm thinking after I can change it, I'm gonna get a barbell for it. For one thing, the hoop sticks out kinda far - but it sticks like straight out away from my face, & it's kind of annoying. And, I've noticed that I keep underestimating it's size, so I keep brushing it with my hand when I'm scratching another part of my face over there, or brushing my hair aside.

And it's sore! He didn't do anything except clamp the skin & then stick the needle through, so it hurt just getting it done (my eyes were watering, but actually, for not having it numbed first, it wasn't as bad as it could have been, we'll say), but like I told Lisa later, "When I got my belly-button done, he just poked it through fat - my eyebrow is a muscle, & I keep moving it unconsciously, & it hurts!" I had to keep myself from squinting in the sunlight, because it would pull on it & start to hurt more. It's still really tight, & even having the hoop move left & right really hurts.

Dammit, I wanted my tongue pierced!

Oh my god, I got my eyebrow pierced.

Actually, it was a debate between my eyebrow & my nose, but I have such problems with my nose & breathing anyway, I didn't want the extra hassle, plus I've always thought eyebrow piercings are cute.

Oh my god, I got my eyebrow pierced.

11:04 p.m. - 2008-02-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten