eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DDR Max 2 & Disk Drive

Okay, so I bought Dance Dance Revolution Max 2 at Best Buy on Saturday, along w/ PSP X. Monday morning Mom had to get a prescription filled at Walmart, & she wondered if I wanted to go w/ & get the floor pad for DDR. I hemmed & hawed, 'cause she said she wouldn't go until probably 10 or so (she had a Dr.s appointment @ 9 or so to get the prescription). I had been planning on going to bed at 9 or 9:30 (which actually means 10, but still), but decided since she was going out there anyway, I'd go w/, instead of making another trip for just 1 thing the next day.

After coming home from Kim's, I'd realized I should have looked for a 3 1/2 floppy drive @ Best Buy. I've got a bazillion floppy disks from my old computer (that's how I saved space on my crap-happy comp; I saved everything from KiSS dolls & templates to stories to pics on disk - anything that was small enough to fit, I put it on disk, pretty much), but my new computer doesn't have a disk drive, just a DVD drive (which I'm in love w/, but still; can't read disks in it). I thought, even if I'd looked for a drive, I wouldn't know how to install it. I'm a software whore, but I know crap about hardware. The most I know is how to hook up a game system to the TV, & hook up the cable to a transistor box 'cause the TV only has 1 jack & I need to hook the DVD player up to that. But I digress.

@ Walmart, I looked just to see if they had any disk drives, maybe something external that wasn't too complicated. And, glory be, they had one. Not only was it external, but it connects through a USB port, of which my new comp has several (7, to be exact). Hallelujah! Heeh. There was this moment where I was looking at the technical specs on the box @ the store & it said the size was 4.125", & I got to thinking it was for the really old disks that are the size of your hand (or at least, my hand). Then I realized the drive was that big. Duh. It was a blonde moment, of which I have many. (& people think I have brown hair! Hah!)

So anyway, I spent like, $80 dollars @ Walmart on 2 things... but so worth it. It's such a pain in the ass to turn on my old CPU (to which I have to hook the monitor & mouse up first, & switch keyboards coz the new 1 won't fit into the old CPU jack), just to look at/read/play with something on disk. & I've got a buttload of pics on disk, that I would just love to manipulate w/ PSP (& I actually did when I got a free trial version, before my comp decided it was too full & didn't have enough virtual memory to support PSP, & I had to delete it. But I still got the pics!), but there was no way for me to get the pics onto my new comp. Well, there is, but it involves u/ling them to the internet, then d/ling them to the new comp, & it's such a pain in the ass. So, no.

But now, (singing): I have a disk drive, la la la la la, la!!

So, yesterday, I went to bed a little after 9. I'd only gotten like, 3 hours of sleep Monday, & that had been from 2 to 5, so I was really tired. Coz the last sleep I'd gotten before that had been the 13 hours on Sunday. So, instead of falling asleep @ the computer, I fell asleep in my nice warm bed w/ my nice warm, obscenely soft M&S (moon & stars) blanket. I got up around 5:30 (will wonders never cease? I got up after only 8 hours, on my day off!). But! There's a reason I actually got up! I got out DDR & was gonna play it. But first, I had to read the instructions, & I was hungry, so I called Mom @ work (since she wasn't home yet). I ended up waiting about a 1/2 hour for her to get home, then we went to Subway (to go; please, like I'd eat in if I didn't have to). I was still reading my instruction booklet, so that was fine. Then we got home, & I told her to go play on the computer (which she happily did), while I made a fool of myself learning DDR. I suck at it, too; I've gotten through 2 of the 3 lessons they have, & it took me probably over a 1/2 hour just to pass the last section of lesson 2. But let me tell you something.

I'm addicted.

That is the funnest, most awesome game, ever. I love it. If it weren't so physically hard, I would play it a whole lot more. But after a while, my feet were starting to hurt. Not from standing & jumping on them, but from the way I was stepping on some of the pads for various moves. But it's so much fun! There's one part of the lesson where it has you step repeatedly on the left pad, & I kept thinking "hoedown" dance, & doing that hick-looking stamping thing. It was funny. & the music rocks. I've heard so much about the game (years ago, when I was like, 15 or 16), & so many people saying they love the music, they d/led mp3s of the music (I'll have to look into that a little later), stuff like that. & I love beat-music (y'know, music w/ a great beat), techno & trance & any dance-type music. So this stuff is awesome.

I told Mom that this was definitely worth the $80 it cost for the game & pad. So Much Fun!!!. Also, she made a joke that I was going to "Dance, Dance and Revolute." It was eye-rolling funny when she said it; then she kept saying it, until it turned into one of those in-jokes. I'm like, "I hate you, you know."

On another note, I've got a DeviantART account. I am now officially a deviant (I can't wait to tell my mom that, I just know she'll say something like, You've been a deviant for years. Heeh.). I can't scan any of my (crappy) sketches onto the computer, since I don't have a scanner (yet yet yet), but I've got a whole bunch of dollz I could upload, & I was looking, & they've got a section for prose, so I could upload my stories, especially the ones I feel too nervous to upload to FF.Net. FF.Net, I feel like if they don't get reviewed, they're crap. But if no one puts a comment on them on DA, that's fine, I'm not really expecting any (it'll just be a happy bonus!)

Okay. So I think I'll stop now. I've been writing for an hour; want to do something else, now.

4:44 a.m. - 2006-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten