eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Still Christian, Dad

How do you tell your Arkansas-like-fanatic bible-pounding father that you study & believe in Wicca & paganism?

Hah, you don't.

If you hadn't guessed, my dad stopped by again today. I'm positive now that he's lonely. He's also antsy about getting on the road w/ that construction thing, but I guess it doesn't start until September, when one of the guys currently working starts college.

We were talking about christian stuff (Dad isn't exactly a bible-banger, but he's... very enthusiastic about his faith, & wants to share it.), & there's a series of books by a woman named Rebecca Brown that he's read/studied. He had the last book in his van, so he got it out & I started leafing through it.

He had Post-It notes stuck like bookmarks on the tops of pages, w/ little notes describing what passages he'd marked. Then on those pages, he'd highlighted the relevant passages.

One of them talked about Wiccan haircuts, of all things. There's a male haircut that a lot of people call the "Fool's Tail", & it's when the hair is short, except for a piece in the back that grows long, & looks a little like a tail. Apparently it was started in England in like the 1980's by some Punk bands (or something), & it's called the Goat's Tail. These guys were Wiccan &, according to this lady, it's a symbol of Satan, who quite often masquerades in the form of a goat.

Rolling my eyes does not do this piece of shit justice. I-- just-- I don't know. I had to say something about it. So I spoke up &, after reading that little passage to him, said, "That's just not true. The Wiccans' male god is quite often called the Horned One, because he's god of the forests and stuff, & he's got animal characteristics, but he's not Satan; Wiccans don't believe in Satan. & in fact, nowhere in the Bible does it describe what Satan looks like, his description of having horns & goat-like looks came because the pagans were still worshipping the Horned One, & the church wanted to put a stop to it, so they demonized him."

Well, it wasn't that wordy, but that was the gist of it. Very impassioned speech, but I was trying to sound nonchalant ("Act natural!" I kept mentally screaming.)

Dad shrugged and said, "I don't really know, I don't know anything about Wicca."

Keep your mouth shut, just keep your big mouth shut. I really should listen to my inner voice more often. It would save me a lot of trouble.

But no. Open my big mouth I did. "Well, I do know about it." Explain, how are you going to explain that one? My inner voice gets snarky a lot. Which might be why I don't listen to it more.

Of course, dad was giving me this look, 'Explain that one', it said. Two against freakin' me, so I'm like, "I watched too much Buffy, & got interested in learning more about it." Not a complete lie, I suppose. More like the other way around, but still.

But then he's like, "Buffy? Was there someone on there like that?"

"Yeah, Willow. The red-head? She called herself a witch, but I think she was Wiccan. Of course, Wicca is more almost a religion than just magic, but still." This was my attempt to sound like I don't know as much about it as I do.

I love my dad. Most of the things I'm obsessed with, he at least gets interested in. I got him hooked on Buffy the Vampire Slayer several years ago (him and Kim and my mom. Yes! My ex-boyfriend Chris came that way already, thanks to his twin sister.)

Yeah. So then a little while later, my next door neighbor walks over, carrying a brown package. He says, "This isn't mine," & I see that it says Amazon.com. My cards! He's like, "Is it yours? The mailman can't read addresses I guess."

"Yeah, it's mine. Thanks a lot! I was wondering why it hadn't arrived today." Not strictly true. I'd checked the mail earlier & was disappointed that nothing had come, but not surprised. The damn things weren't supposed to arrive 'til like, the 14th. So, yay!

Of course, Dad's sitting there, & I can't wait to open them, & he's curious... I think you know where this is heading.

So, he's looking at the box & says, "She [Rebecca, the book lady] says not to play with these." He sort of laughed as he said it, like it was funny we'd been talking about her, & then I got the cards. Yeah. Funny. <--sarcasm.

"Oh, I'm not going to play with them." True. I do not "play" with Tarot cards. "They're just for decoration." Not quite as true, but as far as it goes, yes. I already have a deck that I'm comfortable with, it was my first deck, I don't think I would want to switch decks. I just ordered these for the pictures & the mythology (They're Lo Scarabeo Celtic Tarot cards. The Major Arcana uses Celtic mythology, & the pictures are awesome! I think most, if not all, of the other decks I ordered are LS as well. The artwork is just fantastic. They're coming out with a manga-inspired deck in September, & I am so getting it. I almost pre-ordered it, even.)

Anyway. That was my little drama today. I'm hoping that, since this deck was shipped after the other 4, that they'll get here tomorrow (later today, whatever).

Other stuff's happened, but I'll write about it later.

I still haven't written about Kim's wedding. Crap. Oh well, it's not like I'm gonna forget it. (It was beautiful, seriously. I cried. A couple of times. It was great.)

Be true to yourself, even if you can't be with your parents.
Love ya!

12:43 a.m. - 2006-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten