eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kim's Birthday, or, How My Weekend Was

So, let's see... I'll just jump right into what happened this weekend.

I worked 200, which sucked royally. I didn't get done getting up the people I was supposed to until almost 7am. Kim had said she'd be here around 8 to pick me up. I hadn't packed yet, I still needed to take a shower & get ready. So, Kim called @ about 7:15 to say she & Chris had just left her house, & they'd be here in about an hour. It had snowed the night before, & I guess was still snowing in Lincoln, so I thought it might actually take her the full hour to get here (Kim likes to go really fast on the interstate; what I didn't realize @ the time was, Chris was driving).

Anyway, long story short, I don't think we left my house until about 9. I'd gotten up @ about 9:25pm Friday night, so I wasn't really tired yet. We got to Kim's house & her mom & stepdad gave her a really nice digital camera & printer (it was a combination b-day & graduation present from them, but Alan wanted to give it to her for her b-day). Chris left to go home & take a nap (he'd only gotten about 3 or 4 hours of sleep that night, coz he'd gone out w/ her for her Hour of Power). We had lunch, Kim took a shower & we talked about nothin' much, just catchin' up & stuff. She got ready & called Chris to see if he wanted to go w/ us to buy her b-day present from me. He came over, & we went to Euphoria. That's when I learned that he'd never been there before (but Kim had told him about it).

So, we zoomed in on the clothes & I told Kim to have at it. But I told her to buy something she could only find there; coz if I could buy it for her someplace else, I would have, & it would've been less expensive. Which meant no tie-dye shirts! (She has this thing for tie-dye, & I'm like, "You can make those; find something else.")

She ended up getting this pretty burnt-orange fitted spaghetti-strap top & cotton dark brown gypsy skirt w/ sequins on it. It looks very nice as an outfit, & it's so her. I got this big Japanese fan w/ a yin-yang, dragons on the left & right, & kanji, all in gold on it. Gotta find a place to hang it in my room. I was so proud of myself for not buying a whole buncha crap (everything's so damn expensive there!)

Then, we went to Best Buy. God! I went to the DVD's first; the last time I'd been there (which was years ago), all their anime was in the Sci-fi/Fantasy section. So I'm going along the aisles looking @ the different sections, & I see this sign that says "Anime". I'm like, 'Oh, God, they have an entire section for it now!' This can't be good. Well, thankfully, I'd had Mom order FMA Thursday night for me (7 DVD set, all 51 eps + the movie, $68, including S+H). I don't know how much an individual DVD cost, but I found a Collector's tin that looked like it held 3 DVD cases, & it said it had 4 episodes (it might have meant per DVD, but that's still only 12 eps), & it cost $25. & I paid like a dollar & a half per ep for mine. So, good thing.

I couldn't find the series I wanted (Gravitation), I could only find a special that's set like a year before the show, & you sort of have to know the characters; it's not something you can just jump into. So, yeah. I may end up ordering it online as well. Couldn't find Stephen Lynch there, either, so I know I'll end up ordering his CDs.

But, I did find Dance Dance Revolution (I got DDR Max 2) as well as -- Paint Shop Pro X!! Yay! I'm so excited. I just d/led it tonight, & have only touched the tip of the iceberg. I've played around w/ the Effects (& haven't even gotten through them all), & stumbled on the Picture Tubes. God, I'm addicted already! That's why I got on the internet, heeh!

So, after that we went back to Kim's house & had ice-cream cake, & Alan loaded her digital camera software onto her laptop. Then we sat in her room & she made a list of all of my CDs she wanted to rip. She only got through 5 or so before her mom said it was time to go eat. We went to Applebee's. It was okay (I'm not a big restaurant eater, coz I'm picky, & I can't eat a lot in 1 sitting.) I got a thing of Mozzerella sticks (& they're like, that's all you're gonna get? It's an appetizer. I'm like, yeah, I know, & I won't even finish all of them off.) So, everyone orders, & Kim's talking about how I eat like a bird, blah blah, I'm like, I just nibble on things! I was explaining to Chris how I'd probably have 4 or 5 sticks left when I got full. So, the food arrives, & we eat, & sure enough, I feel like I'm gonna be sick if I take 1 more bite, & I've got 4 sticks left. So Kim had 1, & Chris had the other 3.

Kim was telling me earlier in the day that I had to eat a whole bunch, even if I didn't want it, so I wouldn't get sick when we went drinking. She's like, either that, or nibble while we're at the bars. I'm like, I'll just nibble.

So, then we went back to the house & I got changed & put on some makeup, & we went to pick up their friend Jason. Then, we went drinking.

The 1st place we went to is called "Duffy's". It was pretty nice. We got a 'fishbowl', which is exactly that; a gallon fishbowl filled w/ ice & a drink. Kim got an Amaretto Sour so that I could drink it too. & I drank a lot of it. Kim drank a lot of it, too, but since Chris wasn't drinking any, & Jason was... well, I think he drank some, but not a lot until the end. So, Jason asked what drink Kim liked, & she's like, "A Jager(sp?)Bomber!" He's like, pink something else. He was gonna buy 2 shots & salute her, but he hates Jager, so she's like, well what do you like? He's like, pretty much anything except Jager. So she settled on Tequila, even though she doesn't like it. So they did a shot of Tequila, then Jason got her a Jager Bomber & pretended to have one also & saluted her.

Jason & Chris played pool, & Chris lost. Then Kim & Jason played, & ... I don't remember who won. @ one point Kim left (to pee or something), & Jason took 3 of his balls (he was stripes) off the table & was like, "Do you think she'll notice these aren't there?" So I hid 1, & Chris just sat w/ the other 2, cupped in his hands & rolling them together on the table (This whole paragraph is bothering me, talkin' about balls, gah!) So Kim comes back & comes to get a drink. Chris is sitting there clacking the balls together right in her vision, & she doesn't even notice! So, I'm giggling like mad, 'cause it's damn funny. (& no, I wasn't drunk. I didn't get drunk, actually.) So she goes to play, & Jason comes over & takes a ball & is gonna slip it on the table when it's his turn again. So, she comes back over to get a drink, & he puts it back, pretty-as-you-please. I gave Chris the 1 I'd been hiding, so he's still clacking them together, & she still doesn't notice!

So Jason comes back over & takes the second ball back, & puts it back on the table when it's his turn again. Kim comes to get a drink, & finally sees the one ball Chris is still holding. She's like, Oh my God, you have a pool ball! & Jason's like, "Chris! Why do you have one of my balls!" acting all innocent. I'm about to fall out of my chair laughing so hard, coz Kim's just so... Kim.

I played Chris next, (he's like, we'll play the loser's bracket, & I'm like, "But I haven't lost yet. The operative word being 'yet'.") So, we played, & I actually ended up winning! I would've done better (it was neck-n-neck the whole game), but I can't take right-handed shots at all, I'm crap @ them.

So then... I think Chris & Jason played again. I told Kim the whole thing about the pool balls, & she got up and was givin' Jason shit about it.

We finally finished the fishbowl, & went to the next bar, "Brothers". It had a dance floor, & better music (I didn't recognize any of the music at Duffy's). I got a Fuzzy Navel, & Kim got a Bud Light, & Jason had a Jack & Coke. Kim took a drink, but didn't like it.

She wanted to go dance, but Chris doesn't dance, so she went by herself. She found this dance partner, & they're dancing (she told us later she told him she'd dance w/ him, but no touching, & he respected that), & Chris is watching her w/ this... it wasn't a jealous look, but like, a longing look. I felt bad for him, so I tried not to look at him - I didn't want him to know I knew what he was feeling. I knew Kim wanted to dance, & Chris doesn't dance, but he was... maybe not even upset, but just, I think he was wishing he could dance w/ her like that. It was sad, dammit!

So then Kim comes back, & she's... gettin' drunk. To me, she was just acting like when we were 12 & she's hyped up on Mountain Dew, but... She called Chris's cousin Kyle (who wanted to see her drunk, but didn't want to drive home from school w/ the snow), & when he talked to Chris, he thought she was faking it, coz she's always hyper like that (& she is, but this was different. She was full-body talking, waving her arms around & nodding a lot for emphasis, but other than that, she was normal... for Kim, anyway.)

So then she wants to dance again. So I go to dance w/ her. I don't dance. I'm too self-conscious, & even though I didn't know anybody, & they're all gettin' drunk... people were there. They could see me, even if they weren't watching me, y'know? Plus, I'm dancin' w/ Kim, who makes everything look fluid & good, & everything I do feels stiff & jilted. But I tried. I got the hip/leg action (I think), but I didn't know what to do w/ my hands, so I kept finding myself touching my hair or tucking it behind my ears (my new habits w/ my haircut). I'd had a drink of her Bud Light earlier (it's nasty, man), but I had another drink, just for the hell of it. Kim thought it was great.

So, the song ended, & we went to sit back down. I don't know if anything happened in between, but Kim wanted to dance again, & she got Chris to go w/ her. So I'm sittin' alone w/ Jason, & I'm like, I'm not drunk enough to have him dance w/ me. Jason's cute, by the way, & I'm picky, so I don't think a lot of guys are cute. I'm so surprised he's 31, coz he doesn't look it. But, he said something about watching them, & I said, let's watch them somewhere closer, coz I'm short & can't see them. & I actually tugged on his sleeve. I have this whole hang-up about physical contact, so obviously the night had been getting to me. (That, & Kim's constantly saying that we'd make a great couple coz we have so much in common; anime & the Sims 2. Not sure that's enough, but still... she's persistent, if nothing else.)

So we found a booth close to the dance floor, & watched them dance. Kim (& I, since she wanted pictures w/ her in them) had been taking pictures all night w/ her new camera, so I tried to get a pic of her & Chris. Tried because it was dark, & the camera only picked up the bright lights. I'd been lucky the other 2 times coz they'd had hanging lights behind them each time, & I just figured out where their heads were from that, but not this time. So she & Chris were off in the right of the picture instead of centered, but they were there, so oh well. She thought it was okay.

So Kim comes back, & she wants another Bud Light, but Chris goes & buys her a Redheaded Slut (I can't remember what's in it, but I think Chris said Vodka & something). She likes them. So she drank it, & then she's like, I'll be right back, & leaves. She headed for the bathroom, & a minute later, Chris gets up & heads there. I knew something had happened, but it wasn't until Jason said, "That has got to be the worst thing to happen on your birthday," that I realized she must have thrown up. It seemed like it took them forever to get back, but probably only 5 minutes. She comes back & she's like, "I threw up!" I'm like, "Congratulations, you're now officially 21." It was 11:23pm.

I'm gonna finish this later, it's getting way too long, & it's taken almost 3 hours to write.

2:11 a.m. - 2006-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten