eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ivy's Tarot Reading

I don't know if it's the summer and the wonderful weather & the long days & the gorgeous, large moon I see almost every night, but I'm really stepping up to the whole Wiccan thing.

I've been learning how to read Tarot cards for... I'm not sure how long. 6 months to a year, maybe. I still have to rely on the book that came with the cards whenever I do a reading, but I'm getting better at putting everything into my own words, & figuring out how the cards meaning fits into the reading & its position in the spread.

So, I did a reading for my best friend Ivy a little while ago. We'd just talked after 9 months (she's been away at school), & she was telling me all the stuff that's been happening to her. She has boy problems. The opposite of my problems; there are all these guys that like her, & she likes all of them, & it's just a big circus trying to follow who she's dated, who she wants to date, & who hates her current boyfriend, & who's the best friend of her ex-boyfriend that she started dating... yeah. Like that. Plus she's having trouble with her co-workers; they seem to sort of talk behind each other's backs, while smiling to their faces. Ivy just doesn't get that. Neither do I, but oh well.

Well, Ivy'd said that the reading I did for her last summer (I think it was just after I'd gotten my cards, & was trying to learn them by doing a whole bunch of readings) was spot-on and very true. I vaguely remember doing the reading, but not really what it was about. Something with relationships, I think.

I asked her if she wanted me to do another one for her, thinking I'd do it over the phone with her. But then I couldn't find the box I'd put my cards in, so I told her I'd do it the next time I called. I had that night off, & it was bugging me, so I went hunting for them & finally found the box & the companion book.

Ivy is a Virgo, which is an air sign. That morning was Wednesday, which is Mercury's day, & it was gorgeous outside (though a little chilly that close after sunrise), so I went outside, set up a lawn chair & a folding table, & did a Celtic Cross spread for her. I had my trusty notebook & pen, & wrote down the cards & their position in the spread. I figured if the spread didn't make any sense, no big deal, I'd just do it again Thursday night when I talked to her again.

So, I shuffled the cards 3 times, first thinking of what Ivy looked like & acted when we were little, then what she looked like the last time I saw her & what she sounded & talked like on the phone, & finally I thought about what she wants to be when she graduates, & what I imagine she'll be like in the future. Then I cut the deck 3 times, & chose which pile "pulled" me the most, put it on top of the deck, then just started drawing cards & making the spread.

After I got them all laid out & wrote down the positions, I went through the book's definitions of the cards, & just started writing what I thought it meant for her, in my own words. I didn't try to edit anything, just writing whatever popped into my head. Every now & then I'd think of a word and start to use a synonym, but just stopped and thought, No, this word just makes more sense and used the original word.

There was one point where it was talking about gifts, & the word talent popped into my head. Ivy's a wonderful artist, & is going to school to be an art teacher. We'd been discussing in our last conversation how we weren't as good artists as when we'd been in our teens, partly because we didn't have time to draw as much anymore, & we didn't doodle anymore. I just kept thinking that this one card was talking about her art, & how it's a part of her, & her talent was given to her & she shouldn't let it go to waste.

It gave me chills, 'cause that ain't never happened to me before. And once I was done I was just stunned, because the entire reading was about 2 things; being yourself, and not wasting or taking for granted what you have. It was so weird, because after having talked to her a couple times, I knew before the reading that she was feeling a little out of place. This is the first summer she hasn't come home, but instead stayed in-town where her college is. She's recently moved into an apartment for the summer & will probably stay there during the school-year. She's got a job & the local Wal-Mart, instead of her usual summer-job @ the bank, & a lot of her friends from school went home for vacation. So it's understandable that she's feeling a little homesick, & maybe a little off-kilter what with all her boy-troubles & thoughts.

I've never had a reading like that before, & part of it was the way I just let my thoughts flow onto the paper (that's new for me, too), but part of it was just... magic. It was literally awe-some, & has given me more incentive to better myself spiritually down this path I've chosen.

Blessed be.

9:49 p.m. - 2006-07-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten