eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Mine & I'm Not Giving it Back!!

I drove around for about 45 minutes this morning. This town is fucking small. I have no idea how I managed to get lost when I first started driving.*

*(When I first started driving, & wanted to just drive aimlessly & get to know my way around town, I would purposely drive to an area that I didn't know, & figure out different routes to different places. It's a difficult place to navigate at times, but certainly not get *lost*. And yet, I did manage it a couple of times.)

As I was driving, I was messing with all the controls. Mom's read the manual, so she knows where everything is & how to work it all. When it comes to cars & driving, I have a very masculine attitude about things. 1: I refuse to ask for directions. I would rather get myself 10 times more lost, than admit that I got myself lost in the first place. & 2: I don't want to fucking read the manual, I want to figure out what all the buttons do. Plus, I'm more likely to remember than if I read what they did. I'm hands-on like that.

Anyway. As I was driving, & finding out all the different cool controls, I kept thinking, "God, I want this car!"

...

Yes, I realize it's my car. (Holy shit, it's MY fucking car!) As you can see, it still hasn't quite sunk in. I keep waiting for someone to call and say, "Isn't this a nice car? When you can afford it, you can have it. Until then, here's your old car back." I would die. I would spontaneously combust.

I will say one thing for the old car. It ran a lot quieter (when it was running smoothly, anyway.) It idled fast, & when you stepped off the brake you started going like 5 mph. This one you step off the brake & maybe roll a little. But that's okay. And this one (ooh, I love it!) has a floor gearshift (I can't for the life of me think what it's actually called. I know the gearshift is for a manual transmission - but I mean the 'Park; Neutral; Drive; etc' shift stick.). I love cars w/ those on the floor. It's like driving a stick shift, only without the whole 'manual transmission' crap.

Okay. If you haven't figured it out by now, I know next to nothing about cars. I know just enough to know that I shouldn't talk around pretty much anyone about cars. But I couldn't remember that it was a Ford "Focus". So I started making a list of the things I do know about it. Not quite what a mechanic would list, but still.

It's red & shiny, newer than 5-years-old, has an MP3 CD player, isn't leaking antifreeze and/or power steering fluid, and can make it out to Walmart (which is out on the highway, not in town anymore) and back without the 'check engine' or 'low coolant' light coming on. In fact, it can make it out to Walmart & back several times; I've done it. (Like I said; not a lot of town to drive around).

Have I mentioned: I love my fucking car.

7:57 a.m. - 2006-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten