eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Extreme Skinny Celebrities & My Thoughts on the Female Body

Okay, I just watched a show on WE called 'Extreme Skinny Celebrities'. As the female body is something I'm particularly interested in (seeing as I happen to have one myself), I'm always interested in discussing other people's opinions as well as my own. This show was... well. It highlighted a number of top celebrities as being dangerously skinny (examples include Victoria Beckham, Geri Halliwell, Mary-Kate Olsen, Nicole Richie, Teri Hatcher, Nicole Kidman, Renee Zellweger, as well as a couple of models I can't remember). (Notice that their were no men mentioned - men, as long as they're not obese, don't seem to draw any attraction - they're allowed to cover up less-than-stellar bodies with clothes, whereas women are always exposing themselves more and more).

One of the reporters who was talking on the show (I think she was a reporter), said at one point, "Ladies, men like a little something to grab onto! They don't want to impale themselves on your hipbones when they're with you."

My opinion runs along the same lines. My question for anyone who wants to look like Mary-Kate Olsen is, "Do you really want to look like a 12-year-old boy in drag? And if so, do you really want a guy who is interested in 12-year-old boys in drag?"

I enjoy my figure. I don't think there's anything wrong with it, and I don't really want to lose any weight. I've looked like I currently do for... (wait, I have to calculate)... about six years. From 18 to 20, I did notice I lost the last of the baby fat along my cheeks and chin, but it wasn't much - just a slightly more streamlined look. I still look like I'm about 16 or 17. I'm short, I'm petite, I've got B/C cups (depends on the type of bra I buy), and I've got a pouch on my belly.

I enjoy my pouch. Anyone who might be rude enough to say I'm fat because of it, I would gladly point out that every woman is born with fat there for a very good reason; it's to cushion your reproductive organs. I like it, and in fact, I find it very sexy if a woman has a pouch right there. A nice little front curve.

Also, I like to see women with hips and breasts. Not scary manmade DD breasts, but a nice curve to create an hourglass figure. One thing I don't like about models is, when they're on the runway, they're obviously supposed to be the epitomy of sexy. So they're poured into these beautiful, sultry dresses, mile high heels that are designed to make them walk like sex goddesses and emphasize their legs and butt. Except that they're so thin, they have no butt to emphasize, and when they swing their hips, you can't even tell except that the dress material is moving.

Now, I'm not exactly sure I measured in the right spots (I buy off the Wal-Mart rack, thankyouverymuch), but just for the fun of it, I measured myself to find out what my "curves" are. You know in the song "Baby Got Back" he says, "36-24-36? Uh-uh. Only if she's five-three." Heh. I used to be about that size. Course, that was a few years ago. Now, standing at 5'1 1/2", I measure at 36-27 1/2-36.

Not bad, considering the only exercise I get is walking/running 8 hours every other night and lifting/pushing/pulling about 175 lbs of pretty much dead weight.

I realize, I am not a model or an actress. But I cannot imagine what kind of trauma (and/or drama) they must go through to make them think that losing quite a lot of weight (however healthily or unhealthily they do it) can be worth it!

I am so thankful that I wasn't one of those impressionable teenage girls who bought into the lie that being skinny is good, but skinnier is always better.

I started thinking about it, and nowadays there's such a problem with childhood obesity in America. So either kids are too fat, or they're too skinny. People - there is a middle ground in there! Find it!

12:50 a.m. - 2007-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten