eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FullMetal Alchemist Fleshed-Out Story Ideas

I wanted to write this down so I didn't forget it, & I thought, better here than on my harddrive.

Last night @ work I fleshed out my FMA story idea some. Unfortunately, there's very little time when I can let my mind wander at work (w/out doing something potentially dangerous concerning the residents).

So, the idea where Ed is tossed into "our" world for 10 years, while in "their" world it's only 1. I liked the thought that he lived sometime during Hitler's reign (maybe he shows up toward the end of WWII). But not in Germany, in England. I don't know why, since I'm 90% German, but...

He becomes a teacher. He teaches math & science & such. When he's about 22, he finds these orphans. (The older one stole his wallet, & he caught him). William, the older brother, is 6, & his younger brother Henry is 4 (sound familiar? I thought it'd be nice to have a little "full-circle" thing going on). Ed takes the boys in & raises them. I think he homeschools them, maybe tutoring other children to make money. But he's a "stay-at-home" parent.

Then, when he's 27, he gets pulled back into "his" world by Al -- but he's not the only one. William & Henry, due to being in close proximity (something like he was hugging them goodnight, maybe), get pulled back with him.

I also thought, maybe he hits a late growth spurt, & gets taller, even if it's only a little. But, in 10 years, he can't wear his automail anymore, for whatever reason. So, he doesn't have anything for his arm (he just pins his sleeve, like so many soldiers had to), & gets a regular prosthetic for his leg (I don't know how advanced prosthetics were back then, but we'll pretend). He's thought of as a soldier by his neighbors, even though he's never mentioned it ("That Mr. Elric, he's a very private person. But, who can blame him, after what he's obviously been through. Lost an arm in the war, you know.")

When he & his "sons" are pulled into "his" world, Al is 17 (I think Al is only a year younger than him in the show, & I'm pretty sure Ed is 17 @ the end of the series... maybe he's 16 - but I'm saying 17!), & Mustang is 30. (I have no idea what Mustang's age is, but the majority of fics I've read have him being about 30 when Ed is 17 or 18.)

So, that's my fleshed-out story idea. @ 1 point, I imagined William seeing Mustang & thinking that he's Hitler, which I just found hilarious. & also, I thought of a scene, I can't remember how it started, but Ed says to William, "And when you get a girlfriend, I'm going to tease you mercilessly about it."

William: "Eew! Girls are gross, I'm never gonna date them!"
Ed: (thoughtfully)"Well, your first boyfriend, then."
William: "...you can do that?"
Ed: "Of course. I tease you mercilessly now, what makes you think I'll stop?"
William: "No, I mean... have a boyfriend..."
Ed: "..."(slides his eyes over to Mustang, who's wearing his infamus Smug Look(TM)) "You can, but personally, I think they're a pain in the ass."
Al: (blushing)"Ed!"

Okay. I tried thinking about the Alternate Universe idea, but all I got was a bunch of talking & avoiding from Ed, who didn't want to have to explain about his dead mother & dead-beat father & metal brother and (breathes) all that. Although, Alternate-Ed (known as Edward), was quite the little bookwarm, & quite the little sarcastic antagonist. He got kinda mean a few times, I had to make him sit in the corner.

Sorry, that was just a funny image. Okay, I'll stop rambling now.

9:37 a.m. - 2006-02-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten