eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Phone Call That Wasn't

Nobody called. 8 o'clock gets closer & closer, & I'm just waiting for the phone to ring. Nothin'. It's almost 9, & I'm like, "Whatever. If I have to work, fine." I really didn't think I would, but I'd resigned myself to it. I got dressed & went down there, & everyone's already there (except Janel, but I'll get to that.) Megon (the House Supervisor & my charge nurse from yesterday) says, "Didn't anyone call you?"

I'm like, "No. I waited until after 8, but no one called." Well, everyone was there except Kathryn & Janel. Kathryn always comes within 5 minutes of 10, & Janel is almost always a minute or two late. But Kathryn would have called in sooner than 8 if she were sick or couldn't make it, & Janel is PRN, & she only works a few nights a pay period anyway (pay period is 2 weeks long, btw)

Well, they looked @ the schedule, & Julie was House Supervisor tonight, & she's pretty good about calling the stand-by's, so they figured she just didn't know. So Megon calls her from the break room phone, & leaves it on speaker phone. Everyone's quiet as Megon talks to Julie.

Megon: Were there any call-ins tonight?
Julie: No. Kathryn ---- called & said she'd be a few minutes late, she called about... 3 minutes ago.
Megon: Did you know we had someone on stand-by for tonight.
Julie: ...nooo~. (pause) Well why didn't she (Tina, the staff clerk, I'm assuming) call? She's hear until at least 4! That just aggravates me!
Megon: I know, I don't know. Well, okay, I'll tell her to go home. Thanks.

After Megon disconnected, we all burst out laughing, & I imitated Julie. "Why didn't she call, she's here 'til at least 4!"

So, I was sent back home. Yay! & it's already after midnight! I swear, my nights off go so much faster than when I work - & my nights don't go at all slow when I work! But, I'm glad I don't have to work. I just have tomorrow night, & then I'll have the weekend off. Yay!

12:06 a.m. - 2006-01-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten