eirian84's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My New Kittens!

So. Kim came down today, & we went out to Pizza Hut to eat. Then, we went to pick up my kitten.

They're sleeping in my lap right now.

That's right: They. Plural.

See, I wanted the calico. But my mom had seen the pink one (it's really just a faded orange/cream color, but it does look sort of pinkish), & really wanted it. But since I was the one who had talked her into getting the kitten in the first place - & I was the one who would have to take care of it - I got to pick it out.

Well, then we went out there, & saw them all. Kittens; probably one of my biggest weaknesses, right up there with chocolate. & the pink one was so cute...

Yeah. I got the pink one, too. It's a boy.

I'd been having trouble thinking up a name for my new (as-yet-unseen) kitten, & even after we got them, it took me forever to settle on a name that felt 'right' for her. But as soon as we got them in my room & set them down, he was off and getting into everything he shouldn't be, & just being an unholy terror. He is a little demon - so I wanted to name him Lucius. Well, my mom really doesn't like that name (at one point I said, "I don't know why I'm listening to you, when I'm gonna be taking care of him!", but I did tell her I was getting him for her, so...). We tried coming up with different names. I'm like, I only know Lucifer (Lucius is a French variant, & also: Lucius Malfoy, evil incarnate from HP), & Azrael. She's like, "Beelzebub... Beelz..."

I'm like, "Beelz! Yes!" That's also the name of one of my favorite Stephen Lynch songs. So, his full name is Beelzebub Lucius - but we just call him Beelz. & I finally settled on Pixie for the calico.

Technically, she is calico, but mostly, she's black. There are small patches here & there on her back that are brown, but the blend with the black, so you can't really see them. She has a spot above her right eye that's orange, & around her mouth it's mottled white & black - it looks like she was drinking cream & got really messy. Then she's got white from her throat about halfway down her belly, but again, it's really light, & blends with the black. Her left front leg is mottled, & the paw actually has a spot on the middle digit, & then another distinct spot on the last digit. She's just so adorable!

& yes, she's living up to her name, as well - she's quite the little mischievous sprite! Right now, they've both tuckered themselves out, romping around & attacking each other. They're both longhairs, but looking at their mom, I think they'll be more of a tabby-longhair, & not like a persian-type longhair. I can't really explain it - but I don't think they're going to be big & bulky like persians are, & their fur isn't going to be the same texture... or something. Anyway.

Cute as buttons - when they're not driving me crazy! They're really just like children. & coming from me, that is definitely not a compliment.

Beelz keeps waking up & sitting up - I think he's watching my fingers as I type. I'm sure once they get big enough, they're going to love playing with my fingers as I type.

Why do I feel like I bit off more than I can chew...?

My mom mentioned (& I completely agree) that she's glad we decided to get two of them, because the way the older cats are acting around them, 1 kitten would have been really lonely. Thomasina (the spayed female) is acting afraid of them. Kumo, the (huge) unneutered male, keeps attacking Beelz, & doesn't seem to know what to think of Pixie. Pixie, of course, keeps sidewinding toward Kumo, & then running off, much like a kid will poke at a snake with a stick & then jump back before it has a chance to strike. Kumo doesn't even really react when she does it; except for the one time, when she pounced on his tail. He of course turned around and went for her, but honestly, she does shit like that, she's just asking for it.

So, that's really it for now. The little rascals are sleeping, & I'm thinking of taking a nap myself. Maybe they'll sleep better if I turn off the lights... probably not, huh?

10:07 p.m. - 2006-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

kitchenwitch
hissandtell
sinslaidbare
kungfukitten